Those in charge of curriculum development will have the responsibility for integrating into the curriculum, as appropriate, the following principles:

1.      Each individual has dignity and worth.

2.      A free society requires respect for persons, property, principles, and for self.

3.      Each individual has a right to learn and freedom to achieve.

4.      Each individual, regardless of race, creed, color, sex, ethnic background, or economic status, has the right to equal opportunity.

5.      Each individual has the right to personal liberties.

6.      Each individual is responsible for his/her own actions, and should exercise self-discipline where and when appropriate

7.      Each individual has a responsibility to the group as well as to the total society.

8.      A democratic government is established by majority vote.

9.      Democratic societies are based on law.

10.  Problems are solved through reason and orderly processes.

11.  An individual should be tolerant of another's beliefs and should have freedom to express his/her own.

12.  Each individual has the right to work, to pursue an occupation, and to gain satisfaction from personal efforts.


Teaching in the area of character and citizenship will take place throughout the K-12 program.




Adopted:                                  February 9, 2006

Amended:                                March 9, 2006

Board Review/Approved:        April 8, 2010